“And then the next day, you’re all right again?”

March 19, 2008 at 1:23 pm (Uncategorized)

So I know two posts in one day isn’t normal, and don’t get too excited because I won’t be making a habit of it.  This just deserves comment.

I somehow lost a day…or am living a day twice, or something.  All day today I’m thinking it’s Thursday.  I woke up and wore the clothes I need to wear for meetings on Thursday (darn, now I have to find something else to wear tomorrow).  I got to work on some items that need doing on Thursday.  I thought I was supposed to go to this lunch at noon, which is on Thursday.  Actually, that’s how I figured out what was going on: I knocked on my work-neighbor’s door to find out if she was ready to go down to the lunch.  She was very confused.  A few minutes later, she comes in to tell me the lunch is tomorrow, not today.  At which point, I said:

Me: “Wait.  What’s today?”

Her: “Wednesday.”

Me: “Really?”

Her: “I’m quite positive.  It’s Wednesday.”

Me: “Why do I keep thinking it’s Thursday?”

Her: Shrug.

Why does that happen?  Did I have a dream last night in which I went through Wednesday, like you do sometimes where you dream you’ve gotten out of bed and gotten showered and dressed and left for work, only to have the alarm go off and realize you’ve still got to do all that?

Anyway.  My brain still keeps insisting it’s Thursday.  Not sure what to do about that.

Bonus points if you can identify who said the title quote and in what context.

4 Comments

  1. Carrie said,

    First, you neglected to mention HOW LONG I PAUSED before telling you it was Wednesday. It took me a while.

    Second, I don’t know the quote, so I Googled it, and I found a different blog that used it in the following context:

    “Did you ever notice that how sometimes all day Wednesday, you keep thinking its Thursday? And it happens over and over all day long… And then the next day, you’re all right again.”

    Apparently, there’s something forgettable about Wednesdays in particular.

  2. joanarc4 said,

    True, it did take you more than a moment to come up with the day in your head.

    Still, that quote (laid out in full context by the other blog) was said by someone famous….

  3. Carrie said,

    George Carlin rocks.

  4. metheus said,

    I was OOO Monday and Tuesday.

    On Wednesday, someone commented to me that it already felt like Thursday. I told him that for me it was like Monday.

    We blinked at each other for a moment and then laughed.

Leave a comment